Skip to main content

For crisis support call Lifeline on 13 11 14, MH Call 1300 642 255 or in an emergency call 000

HOME /
Forums

Online forums

Chat with other people who 'get it' with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Useful resources

Re: OCD Carers

Hi
While I'm the mum of 2 daughters, one who has been receiving treatment for anxiety and depression for about 5 years now, I'm relatively new to caring for another daughter with 2 other diagnoses: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Functional Neurological Disorder. This has lead to extremely severe generalised and social anxiety, depression and agoraphobia, many other fears and obsessions and the inability to participate in any form of education over the last 8 months or so (she would have just completed year 10 if she hadn't become so unwell).
We have a good psychiatrist but it looks like treatment will probably last forever as new obsessions and compulsions reveal themselves very regularly and prevent her leaving her room at least 23 1/2 hrs in a 24 hr period. I am finding information on a couple of websites helpful including https://adaa.org/resources and https://www.ocduk.org/ so I would recommend having a look at these. If anyone is able to recommend other helpful resources, I would be keen to hear their recommendations too.
Thank you
Thank you.

Hi there @Mum8 and welcome to the SANE community 😊