Skip to main content

For crisis support call Lifeline on 13 11 14, MH Call 1300 642 255 or in an emergency call 000

HOME /
Forums

Online forums

Chat with other people who 'get it' with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Frustrated2
New Contributor

Marriage breakdown

Hi I’m new to all this I really don’t know what to do anymore 

I have been with my husband now for nearly 20 years we have 3 daughters together. We have been have having an on going fight for a number of years now that I feel can not be resolved. 
My husband has trust issues with me and everyone that is close to him. Mostly with me. He believes that I have cheated on him (which I haven’t ) and have used him to have kids with him because this so called person can’t have any. It breaks me down so much, we have the same fight everyday and are bringing the family down with us. He says he doesn’t want to be with me anymore and wants to split up but I don’t want to give up the 20years that we have been together. The good and the bad. I love him so much and I know he still loves me. We both don’t want to go through the pain anymore what can we do to resolve this?????

7 REPLIES 7

Re: Marriage breakdown

Welcome to the forums @Frustrated2 ,

I hear how frustrating it can be to experience this in that you truly love him, but he has a lot of mistrust in him. 

Have you ever considered couples counselling? 

Do you find you are able to talk through some of the reasons why he may be feeling this way and let him know you still love him?

If you feel up to it, you may want to have a chat to Relationships Australia in your area https://www.relationships.org.au/contact/#Contact-form

They may be able to talk through some of what is going on and give you more insight. 

From what you've shared, I can guarantee that you are not alone and that there are other members who are going through something similar.